History of the Château de Châteaubriant
The Château de Châteaubriant combines ten centuries of history.
A medieval castle
Circa 1050, Lord Brient constructed a wooden castle on a rocky promontory, at the confluence of the Chère and Rollard Rivers. Between the 12th and 15th century, Chasteau Brient grew in size and became a formidable stronghold of the Marches de Bretagne (a former buffer zone between Brittany and France).
Today, the keep, residence and ramparts evoke the former power of this medieval castle.
Discover the Château de Châteaubriant down through the centuries with these maps dating from 1850 on the following website: vuduciel.loire-atlantique.fr !
A Renaissance Castle
In 1490, Françoise de Dinan (1436-1500) decided to build a vast residential dwelling and garden on the site of the former castle courtyard. Although she began the project, it was her grandson, Jean de Laval (1487-1543) who brought the construction to its completion, taking inspiration from the creativity and architectural style of the Renaissance.
The Legend of the "Chambre dorée"
Built in the 1530s, the Chambre dorée (Golden Room) is the only Renaissance interior that may be visited all year round. Refurbished a century after its construction, this room boasts a coffered ceiling and some stunning woodwork features.
Françoise de Foix (1495-1537), the wife of Jean de Laval, died a violent death in this very room on the night of 16 October 1537. Her death has given rise to a legend: locked away in her chamber, she was apparently killed by her jealous husband and a pool of blood is said to appear every year in front of the fireplace.